Try Something New: The Royal Ballet’s Alice’s Adventure’s In Wonderland

Ballet-mad presenter Eleanor took self-confessed newcomer Zoe along to a cinema screening of The Royal Ballet’s Alice’s Adventures In Wonderland in Kirkstall (yes, Kirkstall!). Check out Eleanor’s interview with Zoe about her experience!

What would you say your experience of ballet is and what did you expect the performance to be like?
I was a big fan when I was six years old, even though I’d never actually seen a ballet! This was mainly based on a pair of ballet shoes that I saw with Barbie on the front.. When my mum actually took me to the ballet I was really bored the entire way through, and I guess that was what I was expecting to happen again. Lots of white dresses and women floating around. But, Alice was good!

So what about Alice made you change your mind?
I think I understood it more. When you’re young, you don’t really appreciate the special effects such as the “Eat Me/Drink Me” section. To be honest though, I think I probably would have enjoyed Alice if I saw it when I was six, because there was way more to look at.

https://twitter.com/welsh_beyonce/status/544965121735655424

What did you think of watching the performance in the cinema, as opposed to live in a theatre?
It definitely felt like less of a commitment! And I definitely liked the audience better, it felt a lot less pressure. If you go to a classical concert or something and you don’t know when to clap and it feels awkward? It definitely didn’t have that atmosphere.

What was your favourite part of the production (or least favourite)?
I wasn’t sure about having 3 realities.. so it had before, after and after-after the rabbit hole. But I did like all the animals, especially the frog! And the caterpillar doing the caterpillar: he knew what he was doing.

Do you think you’d like to go and see another ballet?
I would 100% go again. I’m not sure if I’d mind going to the cinema or theatre, they’re both pretty good. It’d be interesting to see other types of ballet. Especially because there were lots of jokes about ballet in the ballet.. [check out the parody of The Sleeping Beauty’s Rose Adage in the video below]. I had mixed feelings about the on-screen interviews in the interval because I quite like to keep the sense of “illusion” alive when I go to the theatre. They sometimes felt a bit like “DVD extras”.

What advice would you give anyone who is thinking of going to a ballet for the first time?
Don’t assume that you won’t enjoy it! Go in with an open mind. The little programmes are free so have a look at those in the interview and get an idea of the plot if you think it will help. The cinema is cheaper than the theatre so you may as well give a screening a go!

You can see other people’s Twitter reactions to Alice on the Royal Opera House website. For more information about upcoming ballet and opera screenings in Leeds screenings in Leeds, check out the Royal Opera House website website. The Arts Show’s very own Eleanor and Jasmine are Student Ambassadors for The Royal Opera House, so visit their Facebook page and follow them on Twitter for more Royal Opera House (and Arts Show!) updates.

Leave a comment